Wednesday, December 30, 2009

Asshole: Live blogging in Real Time

I’m in a bad mood so i’ve decided to liveblog me being an asshole. Yeah, fucking revolutionary huh?

6:31 pm. Changed my facebook status to “Phillip Allen just de-friended Don Bailey on facebook. Only REAL, rappers are allowed to on my wall son

6:41: Vernon Davis has his own diet? Maybe he should come up with his own learn how to catch the fucking football book next?

6:47: Probably the gayest thing I’ve heard all day. SCary’s facebook status: “just has to brag a little bit more. Guess who got a first edition of “Mastering the Art of French Cooking” by Julia Child for Christmas? THIS GUY!!”

6:50pm- An Aim Conversation

Mr. Awesome: so when you get pregnant are you going to stop wearing shoes?

Hannah0913: i barely wear shoes as it is. Only when in public

Mr. Awesome: damn right

Hannah0913:shoes are for people who go do things. i stay at home

Mr. Awesome:…that was dare I say facebookable

Hannah0913: whatever

Mr. Awesome: that was a compliment!

Hannah0913: must be a slow week for yo u

Mr. Awesome: you just dont like talking to me unless im putting you down and insulting your boobs

typical woman

Mr. Awesome: IM NOT A PIECE OF MEAT THAT YOU CAN USE FOR YOUR ENJOYMENT

Hannah0913: Now  have to go home and ask my husband if my boobs are saggy to help build my self esteem

[Via http://thechairman66.wordpress.com]

Regulations on social media in school

Should there be an age-limit on accessing and using social media? Many educators, parents and government sectors have strong opinions on the destructive nature of social media access to students.

Although there has been, and will continue to be, tremendous amount of debate surrounding the issue, I think it necessary to acknowledge that social media can and has provided both constructive and destructive value to the general populace. When brought into an educators’ medium, it poses additional threats, and offers tempting opportunities for collaboration. It is then, unsurprising, that this topic has undergone so much debate.

The primary constructive benefit of emerging media is the tantalizing possibilities it offers in connecting students within schools, and even between schools. Intra and Inter-school engagement between students can engage students with their academics in a truly revolutionary way, providing educators with a more aware, and open-minded student set.

The destructive benefit is far more threatening though. Exposing students in schools to engage with social media is opening a new portal for wayward behavior – it can and probably already has resulted in the sharing of non-educational material. Since there is no content filter on Twitter, Facebook or Youtube, this can result in far more leniency and destructive behavior amongst students if allowed.

Proponents of social media in schools as well as critics have valid arguments. Perhaps the solution lies (as it often does) in balancing between the two extremes. Like Facebook when it first started, perhaps a new social media portal restricted to a student pool would provide most value. Developing applications intended to encourage discussion, debate and knowledge sharing can lead students to educate each other, thus enhancing their educational experience. Does such an application exist? If not, what are the constraints to developing such an application? It  will allows students to mingle socially, but has a primarily educational purpose – has something like this been tried?

After the success of educating through traditional media (Sesame Street, Blues Clues etc.), digital media probably can provide great value if the destructive threats are eliminated through a filtered content and streamlined application.

[Via http://vidyaven.wordpress.com]

Monday, December 28, 2009

What Does Your Perfect Client Look Like?

Can you imagine, in your mind, what your perfect client looks like?  Who is a client so ideal that if you could clone them you would be booked solid?  In marketing everyone calls this our target market, but is our target market changing in our New Economy?  In the senior market we have to deal with the idea of marketing to and shooting for different target markets (the senior and the parent).  Now we have third target market introduced into our marketing targets (in this new economy) and that is the Grand-Parents.  More than ever before we are having seniors bringing in their parent for their session, but the grandparent coming into the viewing to pay for the portraits.  If 40 to 50-year-old parents of seniors are having to turn to their parents at 65 to 75 to pay for portraits, I can imagine this is even more common with younger families that have smaller children.

I never thought I would see the day come when seniors would be telling parents and grandparents they really don’t need wallets!  Senior portraits used to be an expected expense of a student’s senior year, now there are many seniors that want premium portraits having to ask for them as a birthday or Christmas Present.  I don’t think the people we photograph will change but until the economy drastically improves, I think the people paying for the portraits we take will be changing and remember where there is change there is opportunity.

Realizing that many seniors are now having to request senior portraits be a present  for a birthday or Christmas (or in some cases both) we have started marketing more toward the “perfect gift” theme.  Since Grandma is now thrown into the mix of our target audience we make sure to include at least one cap & gown image as well as a few more traditional senior portraits into our information to satisfy grandma’s more traditional taste.  As our predominate buyers changes we need to change our marketing to include them or we can easily lose them to another studio that does.

You have to find and address the predominate buyer (the one that holds the purse strings) and see how dominate they are in the decisions that are made.  In our family campaign we are working on we have included a few portraits with grandparents added, since they seem to have the most discretionary money to spend and a portrait with grandma’s money is more likely to be taken.  We have even added a few portraits of seniors not only with a parent, but also their grandparent as a way to include those that will be paying the bill!

As a business person you must identify who your target market is exactly, know who’s is the predominate buyer is (the one making the decisions) and then who will be the one paying for the portraits.  You may be lucky and in your market that may still be one person, if not you need to find ways to get your messages out to all of your targeted markets with a message skued to fit their taste.  If you don’t know this basic information you are not targeting you message, you are doing what everyone else is doing and the person you are following probably doesn’t know any more than you!

[Via http://jeffsmithbooks.wordpress.com]

Have Music Instrument and iPhone Will Travel!

Technology. It allows us to multi-task, entertain ourselves, learn, play and organize. One of the great things about technology today is that we can travel and market ourselves in so many ways all at the same time. The way technology works these days, we’re not just stuck at a desk to do all this.

For musicians, technology in the form of social media can transcend geography. On the iPhone and iTouch musicians can add to their list of tools. Have a music intrument and iPhone will travel.

Geography doesn’t matter anymore. Sitting at an airport in Georgia with your guitar and iPhone? Record a riff and send it to your social media center and Riff Raters. Get it heard in San Diego. By Monday you could win a prize and have thousands of followers.

Musicians now are no longer constrained by promoting their music in their small town or big city. Technology now allows musicians to be heard anywhere and everywhere.

www.riffraters.com

[Via http://frankiemarketing.wordpress.com]

Friday, December 25, 2009

De-Criminalizing Children

Every day children are sent to jail, not for heinous crimes.  Most are sent for non-violent crimes, and to adult prisons at that.  Can you imagine leaving your room, warm bed, computer, internet, games, books, comics, cartoons, parties, cellphones, and everything else you enjoy in life.  See in jail, you may have television but you have to watch it with over 50 other people who may not like to watch the things you like.  It’s real and happening every day.  To your friends, family, and can happen to you.  I would like to know your thoughts on this topic because children like you are the victims and the only ways we (adults) can help is by listening to you.  What do you need to keep you from getting caught up?  What do you see in your daily life that would help us know how to help you.  It’s time your true voice come out.

[Via http://innercc.wordpress.com]

Most Expensive 2010 Cars

Got some extra change in the bank? Blow it on one of these pricey rides.

Last month, sales of the Mercedes-Benz S-Class (MSRP: $90,000 to $202,000) were up almost 12% from November 2008. That’s unusual: Overall, the luxury segment was down 8% year-over-year, and is down 27% for the year to date.

It turns out that while it’s tough to sell top-end luxury cars in a time of high unemployment and an uncertain economy, there are exceptions to the rule. Buyers will still flock to special cars with a lot of cachet and the price tags to match.

http://www.forbes.com/2009/12/23/expensive-2010-cars-lifestyle-vehicles-luxury-cars.html?partner=forbeslife_newsletter

[Via http://ramanan50.wordpress.com]

Wednesday, December 23, 2009

You can now become my fan on facebook.

I’m about to add the link to the blogroll thingy. I’m trying to build some type of base I can work from for 2010, when I’ll really be making a move towards writing constantly, mailing works to publishers and writing agents, and really earning the title of “writer.” I would consider it a personal favor if I you, whoever you are, would support me in this pursuit. Odds are, you know me, and if not, nice to meet you. Now that we’re all introduced, please do me this favor.

[Via http://trafficjamparades.wordpress.com]

Pengguna Facebook Dukung Luna Maya

Dukungan untuk aktris Luna Maya, yang sedang kesandung masalah dengan pekerja infotainment, terus bertambah. Hingga kemarin petang, lebih dari 50 ribu orang di situs Facebook menyatakan simpatinya kepada artis ayu asal Bali tersebut.

Dukungan terbesar disampaikan lewat grup “Dukung Luna Maya Lawan Arogansi Infotainment”, yang pesertanya mencapai 44.591 orang.

Padahal, Sabtu lalu, anggota grup ini baru 11.855 orang. Sedangkan pendukung Luna dalam grup “Revisi UU ITE Pasal 27 Ayat 3 Saat Ini Juga: Dukung Luna Maya” mencapai 3.365 orang.

Sebelumnya, Kamis lalu, Persatuan Wartawan Indonesia (PWI) melaporkan Luna Maya ke Kepolisian Daerah Metro Jaya ihwal dugaan pencemaran nama baik. Laporan tersebut disampaikan gara-gara Luna menulis keluhan tentang cara kerja infotainment di microblog Twitter Lunmay miliknya. Akibat laporan itu, Luna terancam dijerat dengan Pasal 27 ayat 3 Undang-Undang Informasi dan Transaksi Elektronik (ITE) Nomor 11 Tahun 2008 dengan ancaman penjara maksimal 6 tahun atau denda Rp 1 miliar.

Penggunaan Undang-Undang ITE tersebut mengundang kritik dari berbagai kalangan. Ketua Aliansi Jurnalis Independen Jakarta, Wahyu Dhyatmika, misalnya, menyebutkan bahwa undang-undang itu masih jadi kontroversi. Sebab, menurut dia, di dalamnya ada pasal pidana yang membungkam kebebasan berpendapat sehingga PWI mestinya tak memakai undang-undang ini.

Sejumlah pemerhati dunia maya, seperti narablog (blogger) Enda Nasution, menyatakan perlu ada revisi atas undang-undang tersebut.

Sedangkan Ketua PWI Margiono mendukung perlunya revisi Pasal 27 Undang-Undang ITE karena menimbulkan banyak tafsir. “Seharusnya pasal itu dirumuskan kembali dan diterjemahkan menjadi pasal-pasal yang lebih konkret,” kata Margiono kepada Tempo semalam.

Menurut dia, undang-undang tersebut berpotensi menimbulkan praktek-praktek penerapan hukum yang tidak menguntungkan bagi terlapor.

“Juga, memungkinkan disalahgunakan oleh orang yang memiliki kekuasaan besar,” ujar Margiono.

Kepala Bidang Humas Polda Metro Jaya Komisaris Besar Boy Rafli Amar menyatakan Direktorat Kriminal Khusus Bidang Cyber Crime masih menyelidiki dugaan pencemaran nama baik oleh Luna Maya itu. “Kami sedang mempelajari apakah tulisannya melanggar UU ITE,” ujarnya kemarin.

[Via http://n3ki.wordpress.com]

Monday, December 21, 2009

GamesBeat: Facebook readies its Game Dashboard to organize your social gaming life

Facebook readies its Game Dashboard to organize your social gaming life December 18, 2009 | Dean Takahashi |

game dashboardFacebook is in the midst of redesigning how users find, interact with, and keep track of games on the social network. Called the “Game Dashboard,” the new feature is Facebook’s attempt to play nice with social game developers, serve the interests of gamers, and at the same time stop games from ruining the experience for everybody else.

The company is reining in the worst abuses of Facebook game companies, which have polluted the network’s communications with spam-like messages that general users have begun to ignore, such as “Joe Smith wants to thank you for chasing crows out of his pumpkin patch.” Facebook has announced that these “push notifications” will no longer be put into the notifications channel, which is one of the ways that apps currently communicate.

If Facebook does this previously announced redesign right, it will lead to more app usage and allow developers to keep growing. But if it does it wrong, then it will effectively shoot the golden goose, slowing the growth of game publishers such as Zynga and hurting other third-parties as well. The Game Dashboard will thus have a significant effect on how Facebook generates future revenue.

Gareth Davis, platform manager for games, said the Game Dashboard is going through iterations of its design and nothing is final yet. He said the dashboard will launch in January. Much like Facebook’s toughening stand on special offers, these changes are putting social game makers into a nervous wait-and-see mode, making it a difficult time for them as they adjust to a tectonic shift. But observers have said they think they will have long-term gain, short-term pain from all of the changes.

“We are all in the throes of major changes on Facebook now,” said Roy Sehgal, general manager at Zynga, said at our recent DiscoveryBeat conference. “They are all going to be great changes because they focus on the user experience. They are going to be great for discovery of apps. They will happen fast. They will force us all how to rethink our games.”

At the same event, Sebastien DeHalleux chief operating officer at Playfish, said he accepts the fact that Facebook thinks of itself not as a web site but an ever-changing service that has to continuously improve its relevance to users.

Under the redesign, rather than appearing in your notifications channel, games can tell you what you need to know in different ways. They can put an email in your email inbox. This will take the game spam out of your hair unless you’ve indicated you want it. And that’s the way that non-gamers like it. But for gamers, this could make it harder to tell when something is happening in a game (although there are other ways to track activity — a counter”, for instance, can tell you how many actions you have to take or acknowledge in a game or app that you have bookmarked on your Facebook page). With the redesign, all of your invites for apps will also be stored away in a tab dubbed “invites” that you must click on to view.

In that sense, Facebook is putting a stop to the spam-like messages game developers send out to attract new users to their games. At the same time, though, Facebook is creating a new page that gives game players all of the information they’d want to know about the games they’re playing.

Facebook says on its own developer page that “the goal of the Games Dashboard is to make it easier for users to find games on Facebook, including games played recently and the discovery of new games through friends.” But Facebook may want to take a lesson from Microsoft, which created a Windows “game manager” for Windows Vista that didn’t work and angered a lot of game users.

The Dashboard will display your most-recently played games. If you click on the name of a game, it will take you into that game’s canvas page, where you can find out about it and play it. The canvas page will make it clear to users if they are playing an app created by a third party. The final look for this page is still under development. The Dashboard will also feature Game News, which tells you things like “You are ranked 17th among your friends in Mafia Wars.” And it’ll tell you what your friends are playing.

Alongside the Game Dashboard is the Application Dashboard, which can tell you about the non-game apps you’re using. But Facebook is creating the Dashboard for games because it is well aware that games are the top apps being used. About two thirds of the top 15 apps are games, according to AppData. Developers can’t have an app be on both dashboards. They have to classify it one way or another, and Facebook will review the classifications.

Facebook is also, as others have reported, testing its own currency to be used in games and other apps to buy virtual goods. Right now, lots of third parties compete with each other to offer these virtual currencies. These middlemen, such as PlaySpan, take a cut. But Facebook, as the platform owner, could force the app developers to use its own native solution. That would hurt the third parties, but it could also create a universal virtual currency that could be used across games and apps. John Pleasants, chief executive at Playdom, said he was pleased with what Facebook was doing with its credits system and that it would be great if it changed user behavior.

“It should be able to double conversion rates [of getting a player to pay for something in a free app], which are around 5 percent and it would be great if we could get to about 10 percent,” Pleasants said. “It’s all about reducing friction in the system.”

Game publishers and developers are giving Facebook their feedback. So it’s a very good time to know people at Facebook. But the move by Zynga to create its own FarmVille.com web site is telling. You still have to use Facebook Connect to play FarmVille on that site. But there is some sense that this site allows for more independence. It shows that third-party developers realize that being totally dependent on Facebook, which can change its platform at will, is not a good idea. If Facebook screws up, the third parties will move to a more friendly platform.

So Facebook has to walk a fine line of making its 350 million users happy, keeping its game developers happy, and pleasing gamers as well. The creation of the Games Dashboard will no doubt show us how far Facebook can go. Is it supplanting Xbox Live? Will it replace game consoles?

The Facebook Game Dashboard could be the beginning of something very important in the video game industry. That’s for sure.

Facebook readies its Game Dashboard to organize your social gaming life

[Via http://patrickjonesmba.wordpress.com]

Musicians. Riff Raters iPhone App Can Be A Tool Used In Your Marketing Aresenal!

Many musicians use social media to gain visibility and fans of their music. Myspace, Facebook, Twitter and a host of others, are great marketing tools to break through geographic barriers and market talent. The iPhone even advances that notion with an “app for just about anything.”

For musicians, the Riff Raters iPhone app can be a fun tool to be used in marketing your talent and gaining fans too.

In marketing circles, advertisements can sometimes consist of teasers. Email advertisements, newsletters and even videos give small bits of the whole piece, leaving the viewer or reader wanting more. The same can be said of 20 second riffs on Riff Raters.

Riffers can gain fans and provide direction to such links as Facebook, Myspace and Twitter. A band or musicians’ website can also be provided, thus giving raters and listeners on Riff Raters the ability to seek out more music from the musician or band.

So, if you’re a musician or part of a band, this $1.99 iPhone app can be a catalyst to help you advertise your talent. It should definitely be added as a tool in your marketing arsenal to augment your social media pages and other marketing activities.

[Via http://frankiemarketing.wordpress.com]

Friday, December 18, 2009

Viral Marketing at Death Star Germany - Writers - Authors - Promote Book Sales

The New Writers Handbook 2007 by Philip Martin is the book in discussion this week.

Let’s talk about Viral Marketing ideas for Authors.

First I’ve been reading the book and taking notes.

I try out what I read, and see what the results are.

Youtube – I made 14 videos and went from 13 views to 1093 in two days.

Videos – Topics that I write about on my blogs, Featured Authors JK Rowling and Fiona Robyn.

Favorite Tags according to Site Meter’s Who’s On is: Harry Potter, Emma Watson, Adam Lambert, Twilight, New Moon, Robert Pattinson, Taylor Lautner.

Goal: Make videos about the people whose names are tagged the most by Google, Site Meter and Yahoo Groups.

Result: Astounding Traffic totals to my blogs and youtube channel!

Amount of Time Invested : 48 hours straight work, with little sleep.

Satisfaction: People are getting to know about Idea Girl Consulting, Linda Randall and The Idea Girl on Twitter.

Twitter Results: 1900 followers expanded to 2230 in three days time, satisfaction my Twitter followers started to increase ( I had over 3,000 a few months ago).

This is just a brief idea of what you can do with Viral Marketing using YOUTUBE.

Now If I had a published book, I would have made a video with my book cover, genre, and some of the characters.

A presentation that goes for about 2 minutes at a time.

If you decide to speak to your readers, then have a form of classical or soft music in the background to help keep their attention on what you have to say.

If you are artistic, then put in a few drawings of your characters and plot ideas for fun.

If you have a sense of humor, throw in a few jokes or a comedy sketch before your video begins for about 30 seconds, I’d call this an ice breaker.

freshspot provided this youtube video

#1 Make a video with you and your book and send it to your Mother to prove that yes you are a writer! LOL

David Meerman Scott,The New Rules of Marketing and PR: How to use news releases, blogs, podcasts, viral marketing and online media to reach your buyers directly

the new rules of marketing and PR David Meerman Scott the idea girl says word press

[Via http://theideagirlsays.wordpress.com]

What's on my Twitter & Facebook?

Hola amigos! I have been reading a lot from the internet. If you’re smart with your search terms, you’ll be able to find relevant informative sources. I always feel there are more I can do while online.

My frequent visits are Facebook and Twitter. Instead of attempting fascinating applications or joining silly groups on Facebook, I share useful links. The recent link I shared is about the benefits of smiling.

Smiling is actually a natural face lift. I was enlightened when I discovered it. If you want to stay young and attractive, be the light. As often said, a smile lightens up the room.

There are more reasons for me to smile. I like Spain and often explore more about it. I check on tour packages and even plan for a vacation. Of course, I need to know more.

I came across Spain Travel Guide. I enjoy reading the information posted by Damian Corrigan. He’s a writer that travels in Spain and shares his experience on the land of flamenco.

Delightfully, he has a Twitter account. You got it right, I am following him, @gospain. I asked him if there were any Muslim tours in Spain but there isn’t.

Nevertheless, I was contented when Damian Corrigan assured me about Muslim sites in Spain. I believe he’s working on an article about this. Indeed, I am looking forward.

Not only I manage to share and/or receive information with Twitter and Facebook, I’m encourage to be involved in networking. Therefore, knowing how to leverage on your Twitter and Facebook account, you can reap benefits from them.

The next time you don’t know what to do with your Facebook and/or Twitter, you can follow what I’m doing.

[Via http://aqmartopmodel.wordpress.com]

Wednesday, December 16, 2009

Remove Connection

http://www.corbisimages.com/images/42-18669823.jpg?size=572&uid=C94F8BCF-64C8-44D4-9EBB-494ADDB709F4Just wondering….. What you are thinking when you do the  “remove connection” things, one of your friend from your friends list on your facebook.

a) you hate him/her

b) your other friend hate him/her

c) you just doing what your other friends told you to do without asking anything (worms backsound: stupid……)

Just wondering…..

PS: No, i wont hate you neither your friends.

Picture taken from http://www.corbisimages.com

[Via http://ayamcinta.wordpress.com]

Employee Branded?

Come and get branded!

One of my learning points from #trulondon 1 was the issue of employer branding. I made a statement in my 10 take- away’s  from the unconference, “The employer brand is dead.” What prompted this was the question posed by Keith Robinson: A.K.A: @Siteadvisor as part of the “Recruiter Cast series”, “Is the employer brand relevant?” My response was based on a thought that it  had been replaced by the employee brand.

 I didn’t take part in the debate, which was run by Keith and broadcast on the web.  The conclusion of the panel is that the employee brand is alive and well.

 I hadn’t seen the debate when I made my statement, now I have I’m a little more convinced that the conclusion is right but I still had plenty of questions on the whole area of employer branding, if it’s not dead, it’s certainly different!

With this in mind I wrote a guest blog on Mike VanDerVort’s excellent blog”The HumanRacehorse’s.”  In this blog I again posed the question “The Employer Brand Is Dead?”

 I again outlined my view that employer brand was now employee brand and that the issue  was that the employer brand was set by the employees and what they were saying on Facebook and other social media. Keith added his view that employee brand was much bigger than this and was the D.N.A. of the whole organisation from the board down.

Gareth Jones, A.K.A: @Garelaos went one step further and put together a very reasoned response by way of a blog post. Gareth’s blog, “Inside my head” has some good posts and contains some well thought out arguments. I don’t always agree with his views,but I think he is well worth a read and one to look out for. As ex-HR turned Recruiter (is that gamekeeper turned poacher?) he has some good insights. Keep an eye out for his new posts.

In Gareth’s blog he takes the discussion further,  pointing out that social media will have a huge impact on employer brand but it will not turn the employer brand in to the employee brand. I happen to agree with this statement,but as Keith Robinson says, “Social Media is a mirror to the employer brand but is not it.”

With this in mind, I think looking in the mirror often is a good practice to know what is being said, so that you can look in to why and change it if you need to. This is equally important in order to identify the good things that are being said so that you can keep doing them. You can’t change the environment on the basis of every comment but listening on and off line and balanced review is needed over time to adjust when needed.

Just recently I’ve seen 2 examples of great employer branding run by the employees that demonstrate great examples of positive branding using social media channels :

 A video from the employees of Connected Ventures. On the Vimeo page it was posted on was the statement with the link “We’re also hiring.” I would guess the response was huge from those seeking a funky and hip place to work.

I accept that this needs to reflect the reality of the environment because the brand delivery needs to match the brand reality. That’s where the brand definition from the business leaders come in, along with listening and engagement to ensure that reality matches the promise. On this week’s US radio show, Rayanne Thorn  of Broadbean raised the point that employer brand begins when an employee joins the company not before. This echoes Keith’s point that it is the whole D.N.A. of what the company really is, rather than just what is being said.

The second example of great employer branding is from Deloite’s in New Zealand. Richard Long came on the Down Under Recruiting show on Facebook,  to talk about how they have introduced a Facebook fan page where last year’s graduate intake speak to this year’s students about life and jobs at Deloite’s ,and the HR and Marketing Dept’s have little to do with it. This kind of existing employee engagement with the outside world shows what is possible, but again is dependent on the environment being good in the first place. (Thanks to Paul Jacobs  of Engage, who worked on the project)

In summary, I’m bowing to Keith (and others) wisdom, the employer brand is alive and well but it needs to be aligned with employer reality. You can’t brand your employees or your environment but you can listen to them and react  when you start to see trends that conflict with what you want your environment to be. Perhaps the employee reality is the employer brand, and brand definition, monitoring and delivery are the key. This is still employer branding alive and well.

I’m really looking forward to the Employer Brand V Employee Brand track at #trulondon 2 on Feb 18th/19th 2010. The discussions already started in earnest, the track will be standing room only!

Please leave your thoughts, perhaps a wave beckons. Leave your Gmail address, I’ll send an invite.

Be the ambassador of your personal brand!

Bill

[Via http://recruitingunblog.wordpress.com]

Monday, December 14, 2009

Kid Cudi eliminates stress of social media.



I don’t know what it is but maybe it’s just those sane individuals that realize you don’t have to let everyone know what your doing in order to be doing something. Apparently Kid Cudi agrees, the newcomer to the celebrity world has terminated his Twitter, and Facebook accounts. His decision to drop the accounts  were because of all the forged pages that claimed to be Cudi but actually aren’t. 

On his blog “Datnewcudi.com”, he explains the overwhelming feeling social media gives him.  

“I have an iPhone and I don’t even utilize all of the applications on it,” the rapper explained.. “Just alone on an iPhone, you can have multiple emails — I have two emails, text messaging — some people have AIM on there, MySpace, Facebook — and I don’t even have those things … With Twitter and my two emails, text messaging and my phone ringing, that’s just overwhelming. And you gotta think of it like this, what did they do before there were cell phones”

[Via http://gimmegreatness.wordpress.com]

Seriously, feet and facebook...........

I try not to take myself too seriously. I see this blog as more therapeutic than a quick road to riches. And until a book publisher contacts me (anyone, anyone,  Bueller, Bueller), that is what I will continue to do. But, sometimes I do find myself wondering why I am doing this and who is really reading it anyway.

Luckily, I can answer some of those probing questions myself. I get wonderful emails about my blog and lots of positive feedback from friends. And as the owner of this blog, I can see the key words that people use to find my blog on the great blogosphere. Some of those key word searches make me laugh and many of them make me wonder just what in the heck people are really looking for. Some bloggers will use these key words to their huge advantage. Throw in a couple of “trashy” words and your blog stats head up, up, up. That ticker ticks away higher and higher reader counts.

I try to be careful not to do that. So, my stats roll slowly along – but I am pretty confident that people find what they are looking for here.

Today, though, I am back to wondering. As I travel the world and capture our experiences and impressions, my two most popular posts are about feet and facebook. Not poverty, not the Taj Mahal, not parenting (although it might be good that people are not seeking parenting advice here), not even living abroad, but feet and facebook. Wow. I may need to start trash talking. Seriously………..

[Via http://areason2write.wordpress.com]

Friday, December 11, 2009

The Entertation Index: December 11

Armageddon, Signs of -- We’re looping these two together because somehow it just seems right. 65 year-old Gary Busey is going to be a father again, and the fourth season of Mr. Belvedere is about to be released on DVD. The correlation? Both are things which are great news to completely insane people.

Links: Mr. Belvedere (TV shows on DVD), Busey (People)

Dolby, Thomas – Did the “She Blinded Me With Science” singer accidentally reveal that a new Star Wars movie is in the works? Writing on his personal website, Dolby blogged that he’d been visiting a friend who works for LucasArts, and who is allegedly currently working on a “Star Wars-related TV show, movie and online game.” Of course, the collective heads of the Star Wars Community exploded upon hearing the word “movie,” proving that it’s true that Lucas can bring anything we can imagine to life, including a renewed interest in Thomas Dolby.

Link: Cruel Thomas Dolby Starts A New Hope With Star Wars Movie Rumors (IO9)

Duff, Hilary — The pop songstress and former Lizzie McGuire star allegedly told Nylon magazine that she had a tattoo of the word “SHINE” inked onto her hand to help her to always remember to “shine.” This is, at the very least, more poetic than Lindsay Lohan’s hand tattoos, which read “LEFT” and “RIGHT” to help her always remember which hand is her left and which is her right at the end of the evening.

Link: Duff’s New Tattoo Reminds Her to Shine (Contactmusic)

Heuer, Tag – Watchmakers Tag Heuer have pulled advertisements featuring golfer Tiger Woods in the wake of the golfer’s indiscretions. They, apparently, were also tired of Entertainment Tonight, Extra and Access Hollywood calling them nonstop to find out who “Heuer” is and how she knew Tiger Woods.

Link: That’s Time: Tiger’s Sexcapades Not So Advertiser-Friendly (E! Online)

Lipton, James — In bizarre new television ads from LG, the Inside the Actor’s Studio host does not want you to sext. I don’t know about you guys, but that’s good enough for me to stop sexting James Lipton.

Link: Funny Cell Phone Ads Tell Teens to Stop “Sexting” (Atlanta Journal-Constitution)

Snafus, Facebook – The Huffington Post has collated a list of great Facebook errors in judgement. Let this be a lesson to you, folks. Watch those status updates. And definitely check this stuff out; it’s very funny.

Link: The Funniest Facebook Snafus of all Time (Huffington Post)

[Via http://thebrowntweedsociety.com]

Rage Against the Machine for Christmas No. 1

Tracy and Jon from London started a facebook group for a bit of a laugh a few days ago.

The intention of the group was to urge people to buy ‘Killing in the Name’ during the week prior to Christmas transforminig it into the Christmas Single No. 1

Epic

Little would they know that their group already has nearly 600.000 people (one of them me) and that recognisable voices and faces from UK broadcasting services are promoting it.

Radio DJs are talking about it, Stephen Fry is talking about it, Jonathan Ross, Bill Bailey…

This is meant to only be good fun, but to be honest, if we manage to make Killing in the Name the Christmas No. 1 destroying the planned-for-months PR and Marketing campaign the X-Factor dudes have been preparing it will set a really good reminder that if the music is what it is, it’s because of the people.

And now, ironically I will finish with the last sentence from Killing in the Name:

Fuck you, I won’t do what you tell me.

Motherfucker.

[Via http://neocromagnon.wordpress.com]

Wednesday, December 9, 2009

Social Media Marketing with Facebook and Twitter (Video)

Lynda.com :: In Social Media Marketing with Facebook and Twitter, Anne-Marie Concepción shows dozens of ways to promote a company’s brand, increase sales, drive traffic to a site, and engage with customers using two of the hottest social networking venues today, Facebook and Twitter. Anne-Marie teaches not only the fundamentals of social media marketing, but also how to create a professional, top-level presence that can put a company in the viral marketing sweet spot. From creating Facebook fan pages to crafting the most perfect Twitter bio for SEO, Anne-Marie dives into the details of both services, and discusses the best third-party add-ons that maximize the social marketing impact. [view video]

[Via http://joetheflow.wordpress.com]

YOZA out of town until next year, 2010

If you’re wondering why Yoza isn’t playing anywhere, it’s because she’s visiting family and friends in Honduras.  She drops by FaceBook now and again with updates and pictures, but besides that, she enjoying the quality time AND inspiration for her upcoming debut album.  She will be hitting the studio when she gets back AND as events are set in stone, you will see them posted here and on her other social media sites…

Enjoy the holidays with family and please continue to drop by!

–TEAM YOZA.

[Via http://yozamusic.wordpress.com]

Monday, December 7, 2009

Brief: how does social media differ from traditional marketing?

There are more similarities than there are differences.

Marketing is marketing, and whether you do it in the traditional manner or you use social media, the objectives are the same.  You are trying to increase your audience’s awareness of your product and you are trying to increase your business.

Social media has advantages.  It emphasizes social interaction.  Not only are you doing the marketing thing, but you are personalizing your message to the individual by the possible interactions with them.  You are establishing a relationship with members of your audience before doing business with with. This brings a humanizing element into marketing.

Social media tools that are currently being actively used with good results include (in no particular order) Twitter, Facebook, YouTube, Yelp, and blogs.  If you are currently not using these, then you need to do so.

[Via http://tsbit.wordpress.com]

Using Social Media for Referrals - Just Ask!

My theme for using social media for referrals: If you ask, you shall receive! 

I am continually amazed at the ease of passing referrals using social media.  Recently a co-worker of mine was looking for a realtor in the Washington Township area in Indianapolis.  She is looking into purchasing a new home and needed a starting point.  I offered to post this request on Facebook to see if my network of friends could help.  It took just seconds to post my request online for all of my friends to see in my status update.  Within 30-40 minutes I had a list over 10 realtors to give to my friend!  But these weren’t just any realtors.  These were all realtors that came highly recommended.  And they were not just highly recommended by anyone, they were highly recommended by my friends and people I know.  I was able to confidently pass along these names knowing that my friend will have a solid list of realtors from which to pick.

These requests are taking place every single day on social media networks.  Keep your eyes open and take advantage of the opportunities!

[Via http://derekmcclain.com]

Friday, December 4, 2009

Facebook; attempting to run your life since round about last year

Facebook is apparently planning ANOTHER UPDATE (cuz you know, the last ones have been so well received, only pissing off about 90% of users). One of the most annoying new things is the suggestions it makes. In the old days it just used to be “hey, you may know this person” based on, sometimes absolutely nothing. Ok, occasionally you would have friends in common with them, but occasionally you just get “hey, you live in England, maybe you might know this person, they live in Zanzibar, a country which also has the letter A in it”. Also, it really wouldn’t get a hint “look, I’ve rejected this suggestion about 15 times THIS WEEK, what else do I have to do to get it through to you that I really do not wish to speak to this person, just because we have a few mutual friends doesn’t mean I don’t wish to slit this persons throat and fuck the gash in their neck” and then you feel ashamed for thinking of such violently sexual images. Well done Facebook; you made me feel like an arsehole, I hope you’re happy now.

Anyway, I kind of forget where I was going with this. Oh yeah, the suggestions. Now, the suggestions are just kind of retarded “hey, you never speak to this person on Facebook, do it”. No, I speak to this person almost every day at work, fuck off. Or “he only has x friends, help him” or in English “this person is a loner and/or non existent. Make their life better, because without Facebook, people are worthless”. Surely they realise that sometimes I don’t want to speak to somebody, I just can’t be bothered to go through the hassle of deleting them. Quite possibly the most annoying thing about Facebook is when you get in touch with someone you haven’t seen in years, you get all happy and look forward to talking to them again, and then you find out that they are now a racist wanker. That sucks. Especially since I don’t like deleting people, so now I facebook friends with douchebags.

If Facebook really wants to evolve and change, it just needs to do the following things;

  • Allow us to appear offline and still see who is online. The only reason we would appear offline is because we wish to avoid speaking to people. This is usually for two reasons; 1) we are busy. 2) We are avoiding somebody. Now, if you’re doing the 2nd one, you have no way of telling when the person you’re avoiding has gone offline. Have to depend on dumb luck.
  • Add a dislike button. Simple.
  • Allow us a tiny bit of customisation. I’m not asking for it to be MySpace; which occasionally just looked like the internet vomiting up glow sticks.
  • Sort out Facebook chat. That thing is very temperamental. It’s nearly impossible to hold a conversation on it, due to it cutting off users randomly.
  • More tabs at the bottom.
  • Let us know when people have deleted us. Otherwise it’s just guesswork as to which our friends actually hate us now.

All that’s certain is that if it doesn’t change something soon, facebook will end up as dead and desolate as bebo.

also; check out www.lamebook.com for more facebook silliness

[Via http://cyanideandwhiskey.wordpress.com]

Five sentenced to death over deadly China riots-BBC.

Labor trouble portrayed as Ethnic conflict.Human Right Watchers and US! Where are You?

Story:

A court in China’s Xinjiang region has sentenced five people to death for murder and other crimes over deadly ethnic riots in July, state media said.

Two other people were sentenced to life imprisonment, Xinhua news agency said.

Nine people were executed last month over the riots in which nearly 200 people were killed.

Chinese officials have said most of the victims were members of China’s majority Han ethnic group who were attacked by ethnic Uighurs.

http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/asia-pacific/8392460.stm

[Via http://ramanan50.wordpress.com]

Wednesday, December 2, 2009

Sneaky Pete

I was just discussing Facebook’s latest security features with a friend. One thing you now have the option of doing is posting a status that can be viewable to either all friends or just some friends.

It reminded me of how, when Peter sent a friend request to my friend Annie, upon accepting, she noticed she was blocked from viewing most of his profile. When I him if he was keeping certain things hidden from certain people (possibly photo’s of us, relationship status, etc.), he said no; it must have been a glitch. Immediately following our conversation, however, the glitch corrected itself :P

I began thinking about how low my opinion is of this man. And how I can easily see him taking full advantage of these new and improved ’security’ features. I have a new nickname for him; Sneaky Pete. I can imagine him posting one of his ‘…loves Cari’ statuses, only with the new features, I would be the only one able to see it. I would be the only one able to comment on it. His college buddies wouldn’t be able to view it. Or his family. Or his daughter. His little cyber gestures wouldn’t be real gestures at all. Just more scraps.

Then, I started thinking about his many cyber ‘buddies.’ The Jude’s, Angela’s and Elizabeth’s and thought, he could now post one for each of us, and none of us would be the wiser.

Ugh. I feel sick to my stomach.

[Via http://kissingfrogsxoxo.wordpress.com]

Follow Lazyrussian on Twitter

I’ve had a year-long love/hate relationship with Twitter. I’ve finally decided to incorporate twitter into my daily “share” routine. I tend to share a lot of thinks via Email using (Email This!) to my friends and Family, and I do the same to my extended connections via Facebook. Now, with the advent of software like Socialite and Gruml I can do it all at once. I’ve decided to include twitter, because I have this crazy impusle so spread the wealth of random internet garbage to others =p

Anyway, follow me if you’re interested in web apps, browser extensions, software discount codes, international economics and funny pics/videos.

Follow me here (Lazyrussian on Twitter)

[Via http://lazyrussian.com]

Monday, November 30, 2009

Now I'm Angry

Saturday I deactivated my Facebook account and felt really good about it. Then I went out with some friends to a massive coach burning party.

When I got back I had an email from Facebook welcoming me back, saying that my account was reactivated. (to reactivate your account all you have to do is log in with your old username and password info) I laughed at the irony of it all. Here I was being super strong-willed and deleting my account to only find that it was reopened. Almost like Facebook was taunting me saying… really? you’re going to do this Ashlea… come on, I know how much you love looking at pictures and status updates!

So, I went back in and re-deactivated it. Thinking there had to be some flaw in the system or something. I even asked my sister (who knew my password info) if she had signed in to my account. She hadn’t. Confusion persisted.

Then today, I get another email that my Facebook account was reactivated.

What the ?!?!?

Now, I was angry. I went in, changed my password and re-deactivated it AGAIN.

Ugh. Now I’m DEFINITELY never coming back.

Thanks Facebook.

[Via http://ashleanoelle.wordpress.com]

Fluid: Making the webpage a less cluttered space......

To preface this post, I subscribe to other Mac blogs to see what they are writing about and to discover what other applications other avid Mac users are testing out.  I love doing this because there is a lot of people who know a lot about the Mac and, what I like to call the “hidden gems” of Mac applications.  It is a great way to be in the know what is the latest and greatest when it comes to the Mac.  So last week, I was reading a blog post from Mac Stories (which by the way, is an amazing blog and I love reading his stuff!) titled “30 Web Apps You Should Turn into Mac Apps Using Fluid”.   But as I saw the title it caught my eye.  I have been reading a lot about Fluid, but I really didn’t know a whole lot about it.  But as I read this blog post, I started to realize that Fluid was an app that was going to essentially declutter my web experience.  I don’t know about you, but before I started to use Fluid, I would have about 6 or 7 different tabs going on my web browser (email, facebook, Pandora, calendar, work email, Twitter,  ESPN, etc).  Now with Fluid, life is so much easier, let me tell you how.

Fluid is an app that takes just about any website and turns it into its own standalone application that you can start up from your desktop on your computer.  For example, take Facebook, I use it all the time, but if I want to use it I have to open my web browser and if something is already open, I need to create a new tab and then get to Facebook.  Wouldn’t it be nice if I could just have a Facebook application right on my desktop that I can just click onto and wham, Facebook opens up as it’s own application. This is what Fluid does for you!  So now, instead of opening up several different pages or tabs to get everything I need, I just made Fluid apps for websites that I use frequently.  Below is a snapshot of just some of the ones that I have made.

As you can see I made a Fluid app for Jott, which I just previously blogged about, Gmail, Pandora, Facebook, Brizzly (a Twitter and Facebook Client), and Google Calendar.  Now, the nice thing about this is that I don’t have to always open up a web browser to open one of these web apps, I can just click on the icon and that site will load.  Let me show you how this is done.  You will see that it is very easy and in no time you will hopefully love it!

The first thing you need to do is download the free fluid app, you can get it here (http://fluidapp.com).   After you download the app, click on it and you will get a screen that looks like this.

Pick a website that you would like to use as a Fluid app.  In this example I will use Jott.  So in the “URL” box, I type in www.jott.com.  Then in the “Name” box, I can put something like “Jott” or “My To Do List”, then select a location for the application and an icon.  Now as far as the icon is concerned, you can leave it as it is and Jott will have an icon you can use, but I have noticed that most times when you do this, the icon is very blurred and doesn’t look good.  So I went online to Google and just searched for “Jott Icon” and there are a myriad of choices for icons out there.  Pick the one you like, right click on it, then select “Save Image As” and then pick a location as to where to download it.  Then go back to the Fluid app screen and now you can pick your icon by letting it know where it is.  Here is a short demo video to explain all of this.

So there you have it!  Fluid is an amazing app that, in my opinion goes a long way to declutter your web browsing experience.  I love the fact that now when I need to go to my Google Calendar, I can just click on the Fluid app I made for it and not have to open a browser or another tab within a web browser.  If you like Fluid, again go and check out the Mac Stories blog about the 30 apps that you should have as Fluid apps; they are great ideas and I have a lot of them.  Feel free to comment below about any apps that you have created into Fluid apps; I am always looking for more ideas for Fluid apps.

Thanks again for reading, I really appreciate it!  I love doing this and I hope my passion and simplicity shows through my writing.  If you already haven’t done so, please add me on Twitter (theeasymac) and/or become a fan of me on Facebook (The Easy Mac)

[Via http://theeasymac.wordpress.com]

Friday, November 27, 2009

Nicholas Sparks could never write a beautiful romance like this

I STUPIDLY forgot when saying what I was thankful for at dindin for remind the world of how thankful I am to be facebook friendz with the ClAsSy, ElEgAnT, aRtIcUlAtE pHiLoSoPhEr that is Mah BFF, Ashley M (we shall leave her anonymous-ish so that we do not take up her presh time with our plebian messages of love and adoration). This Princess of My Heart and I shared a beautiful summer together lifeguarding together, though honestly I probably let a few lil rug rats float off to the big Chuckie Cheese Ballpit in the sky since I was so focused on making sure Ashley did not tumble from her high regal lifeguard throne. The instant I accepted her generous and humbling friend request, my newsfeed was graced by her hourly status updates, giving my undeserving self an honest look into the emotions of a true angel.

I have to say, when I’m feeling down because some boy throws up violently on my heels when I proposition him, or Snaxa is out of the plasticky glory that is the Nerds Rope, I just steal a few moments to revisit Ashley’s facebook page. This shrine of dignity always cheers me up, and gives me hope that I too may find twue wuv that I may announce dramatically to the werld. This past summer, whenever work was slow, I would bless the office with an Ashley M Quote of the Day, which they all reflected upon, and adjusted their ignorant lives accordingly.

Ashley lives a life that would make Marissa Cooper scurry back to Tijuana and down another bottle of meds. This beacon of feminine grace is clearly in the midst of an epic high school love affair, and she has the kindness to share with all 1300 of her facebook biffles. God bless those friendz that I have seen like her precious statuses over and over throughout the years. Even when she is sad and can’t call this cruel man that keeps playin gamez wiv her heart, Ashley’s close friends like her statuses to remind her that publicizing this dramz is absolutely the best move for her social life.

I have offered only a slice of this delicious love cake, but rest assured this tumultuous romance has been dominating my newsfeed for a full year now, and thus there may be more to come.

Because true love knows no bounds, including norms of privacy.

[Via http://xoxothevenusflytrap.wordpress.com]

No, you may not poke me.

Mister Diplomat welcomes guest blogger THE Molly Buckley.

++++++++++++

You don’t have to believe me, but I’m being honest. I was once picked up in a bar with the line, “AY! Yo female, lemme get that backslash!” At first I was taken aback by this pickup line. What in God’s name did this boy mean, my “backslash”? I thought it was something vile, dirty, and disgusting. I immediately retorted, “Uhh, no?” I’m really good at being passive aggressive towards potential suitors.

You don't need a book. You need an imagination.

I later found out that “Lemme get that backslash” is actually referring to my MySpace username. That’s right – myspace.com / = backslash. I should have told him that it is actually a forwardslash, but I might have been slapped. And domestic abuse is no way to pick up a lady. Regardless, I did not go home with the gentleman in question that evening.

Well, after mulling on that particular event for a while, it prompted me to think about this idea of using “social networking” terms to pickup members of the opposite sex… in person. And thus, I held a contest. The contest was to see WHO could come up with the BEST social networking term pickup line pun. And I got some hilarious submissions.

Here are some of the best:

  • Aaron K.: Wanna go to my place and #eachother? You do? Tweeeeet.
  • Jonathan B.: Baby, add me to your friend’s list, and we can poke each other all the time!!!
  • Sylvia T.: I can blog all night long, and this entry is definitely not tweet-length.
  • Luke D.: Hey baby, how ’bout we ditch this party and head back to myspace?
  • Matthew N.: It’s Friday and my only recommendation is that you follow me
  • Rare Bird S.: I’ll invite you to an event, and I want to poke you’ tube. I like to comment when you download on my boobs.
  • John B. Jr.: Hey baby. Wanna get Linked in Myspace or yours?

And the winner is…

  • Jim W. (@digitaldrivel): I wanna put my Facebook in your Yahoo and Digg your Twitter until you Yelp!

Congratulations, Jim. You’ve won a grab bag of awesome comedy stuff from the Dirty South. That’s right. We’re dirty and we’re in the south. Rawwr.

So remember boys (and girls), next time you’re in a bar, don’t use that “did it hurt when you fell from heaven?” crap. Be creative. Use your imagination. Get to poking.

Word.

[Via http://misterdiplomat.wordpress.com]

Wednesday, November 25, 2009

Week 12: Social Networking

I’ve never really been a big fan of social networking and only got a profile on Facebook due to peer pressure (I was told I would no longer get invites to parties because invites only went out on Facebook…) I don’t spend a lot of time on Facebook – but it’s great for keeping contact with friends overseas.

I guess I’m beginning to see Facebook’s potential…especially the Science Library Facebook page (and song) ;-) If only we can find ways to “tap into” that!

I had a look at Myspace, but it really didn’t appeal to me.

[Via http://whitesapote.wordpress.com]

How Will Twitter Change?

Biz Stone says Twitter revenue will be in 2010, but promises advertising will be “non traditional.” Hmm. What does that mean? Non traditional is so, well, broad, right?

Does Biz mean that there won’t be a string of ads floating in the right or left nav bars of our Twitter pages? I hope it doesn’t ever come to that.

Here’s how I think it might go. Twitter would be nuts to continue allowing businesses to use their services for free. WIth all the apps around to do the searching for you, like tweepsearch and Refollow, any business can hire a “Twintern,” load ‘em up with caffeine and for little money market the heck out of their brand.

The way I see it, Twitter will soon start charging businesses big bucks for access to their tweople. It is simply not in the business of doing favors for other businesses.

Basically, all that money that has migrated away from newspapers and television (traditional media) over the past few years will be flowing to Twitter and other social media sites, like Facebook.

Why else would R. Rowe Price and Insight Ventures throw another $100 million at Twitter in September? They know that Twitter will soon enough manifest into the cash cow of their dreams.

[Via http://socialgurus.wordpress.com]

Monday, November 23, 2009

Woman's insurance benefit cut for happy, healthy Facebook pictures.

With out passing a judgment whether what she had done is right or wrong in terms of claiming insurance,it is imperative that who use social networks,are careful about the information they provide in these sites;at times it may prove to be very dangerous.

A WOMAN on long-term sick leave for depression says she lost her benefits because her insurance agent found photos of her on Facebook in which she appeared to be having fun.

Nathalie Blanchard has been on leave from her job at IBM in Bromont, Quebec, for the past year.

The Canadian Broadcasting Corp (CBC) reported on Saturday she was diagnosed with major depression and was receiving monthly sick-leave benefits from insurance giant Manulife.

But the payments dried up this (northern) autumn and when Blanchard called Manulife, she said she was told she was available to work because of Facebook.

She said her insurance agent described several pictures Blanchard posted on Facebook, including ones showing her having a good time at a Chippendales bar show, at her birthday party and on a sun holiday.

Blanchard said Manulife told her it was evidence she was no longer depressed. She is fighting to get her benefits reinstated and said her lawyer is exploring what the next step should be.

Blanchard told the CBC that on her doctor’s advice, she tried to have fun, including nights out at her local bar with friends and short getaways to sun destinations, as a way to forget her problems.

Manulife wouldn’t comment on Blanchard’s case, but did say they would not deny or terminate a claim solely based on information published on web sites such as Facebook.

http://www.news.com.au/couriermail/story/0,23739,26384298-5013016,00.html

[Via http://ramanan50.wordpress.com]

People Power 2.0

Sejarah telah bertutur: jangan main-main dengan massa yang berkerumun. Penguasa sekuat apa pun bisa ambrol bila melawan massa seperti itu. Gerakan people power di Filipina telah menghancurkan rezim Ferdinand Marcos. Gelombang unjuk rasa mahasiswa pada 1998 juga telah melengserkan Soeharto.

Itu dulu, Bung. Untuk menumbangkan penguasa, orang perlu berkumpul di satu tempat. Mereka berunjuk rasa bersama-sama meniru demo ala Lech Walesa atau Tragedi Tiananmen. Lalu menggabungkan energi kemarahan sehingga menghasilkan tuntutan yang meledak-ledak.

Sekarang orang tak perlu berkerumun di satu tempat untuk menggerakkan people power. Ini zaman web 2.0 (meminjam definisi Tim Tim O’Reilly) , Bung, era orang bisa menyuarakan pendapatnya  dengan lantang . Facebook dan Twitter jauh merasuk ke relung-relung kantor, kampus, juga tempat-tempat nongkrong. Cukup teriakkan kepedihan bersama di Facebook, “jemaah fesbukiyah” akan mendukungnya spontan. Lihat saja gerakan mendukung dua pimpinan nonaktif Komisi Pemberantasan Korupsi, Bibit Samad Rianto dan Chandra M.

Hamzah. Hanya dalam hitungan hari, sekarang sudah terkumpul “kerumunan” yang terdiri atas lebih darisejuta pendukung.

Mereka sangat lantang dan juga galak. Gerakan mengenakan pita hitam atau baju hitam sebagai bentuk keprihatinan terhadap matinya keadilan hukum dan perlawanan terhadap kesewenang-wenangan polisi serta kejaksaan sebagai contohnya. Dalam sekejap, gerakan mengenakan pita hitam menyebar ke mana-mana.

Padahal, dalam gerakan ini, tak ada yang disebut superinfluential people, seperti teori Malcolm Gladwell dalam bukunya, The Tipping Point. Dulu setiap perubahan selalu membutuhkan “orang berpengaruh”. Polandia butuh Lech Walesa. Gerakan reformasi 1998 di Indonesia butuh orang-orang seperti Amien Rais, Abdurrahman Wahid, Sri Sultan Hamengku Buwono, juga para orator mahasiswa, yang kini sudah duduk manis di kursi Dewan Perwakilan Rakyat.

Merek Hush Puppies, seperti kata Galdwell, pun butuh orang berpengaruh. Merek yang hampir mati itu tiba-tiba melejit–penjualannya terbukukan 5.000 persen–lantaran orang-orang penting tiba-tiba memakai sepatu Hush Puppies.

People power melawan ketidakadilan terhadap Bibit dan Chandra tidak membutuhkan superinfluential people. Mereka tak butuh koordinator lapangan atau orang-orang yang mencari donasi untuk membeli nasi bungkus. Saat orang merasakan “kepedihan yang sama”, orang pun berkerumun di Facebook dan Twitter serta situs jejaring sosial lainnya. Tak peduli siapa yang meneriakkannya. Siapa yang kenal dengan pembuat “Gerakan 1.000.000 Facebookers Dukung Chandra Hamzah & Bibit Samad Rianto”, yakni Usman Yasin? Mungkin 99 persen pendukung gerakan ini dipastikan tak mengenalnya.

Dulu betapa repotnya mengumpulkan sejuta orang. Kini bisa terkumpul dengan beberapa klik komputer. Inilah People Power 2.0. Di Indonesia, setidaknya sudah dua kali people power model ini lahir dan menekan dengan kuat orang-orang yang berkuasa. Yang pertama, saat Prita Mulyasari, penulis e-mail yang dipenjarakan Rumah Sakit Omni Serpong. Yang kedua adalah gerakan dukungan terhadap KPK dan membuat Presiden Yudhoyono tergopoh-gopoh memanggil tokoh penting, membentuk Tim Pencari Fakta.

Kepolisian, kejaksaan–atau Presiden sekalipun–boleh menganggap remeh gerakan ini. Mereka mungkin akan bilang, “Ah, itu kan cuma di Facebook” atau “Ah, itu kan bukan gerakan kaum elite, bukan gerakan rakyat”. Tapi keadaan bisa berbalik. Perubahan memang selalu dipelopori dari kalangan kelas menengah, baru kemudian menetes ke masyarakat kelas bawah atau atas. Sekarang sudah terbukti, sejuta  facebooker bisa menggoyang Yudhoyono, yang meraih dukungan dari 41 juta orang pada Pemilu 2009.

Bila masyarakat marah, People Power 2.0 akan terus bergulir, membesar bak bola salju. Seperti kata Mahfud Md., Ketua Mahkamah Konstitusi. “Kalau pemerintah tidak bisa memberi keadilan, rakyat akan mencari keadilan sendiri.”

 

Sumber : http://blog.tempointeraktif.com/politik/people-powe-20/

 

[Via http://revo4me.wordpress.com]

Friday, November 20, 2009

More on Social Media

I’ve been posting to this blog for over a year now. WordPress has made blogging very easy for me and I enjoy sharing photographic insights with others. It’s a cool way to connect with others and create dialogue with fellow photographers. It also allows customers and those interested in my photography to stay updated.

This week I also began to Twitter more frequently. I had a Twitter account for some time but did not fully see the potential of this powerful social medium. Now I am posting a daily tweet including a PhotoTip. You can follow me on Twitter to see a new photo tip each day.

I also have a Facebook page that replicates each day’s blog post and displays some photos and upcoming events.

Last but not least, I have a Flickr page that displays some of my photo galleries and the photos from the Photo Walk I led.

The great thing about these social media outlets is that followers can see my photography from their favorite venue. If they prefer Facebook, I am there. If they like Twitter, I am there, too. It is a great way to stay in touch with fellow photographers and share my passion for photography!

Miss Wilson di pukul pakai gelas
yang mengenai wajahnya oleh
seseorang saat ia berada bar.
diketahui pelaku bernama
Holliman yang setelah kejadian
itu langsung pergi tanpa bisa di
halangi oleh penjaga bar

Tapi Miss Wilson, dari Oxhey,
Herts., Diakui salah satu teman
Holliman yang ia tahu samar-
samar dari Facebook.
Dia trawled situs jaringan sosial
dan mencari melalui 200 dari pria
itu ‘teman’ sampai ia menemukan
fotonya penyerang.
Dia bahkan melacak alamatnya
melalui seorang teman di situs
tersebut dan memberikannya
kepada Polisi Hertfordshire.
Namun, Holliman sedang keluar
ketika petugas datang untuk
menangkap dia – dan mereka
kemudian bertanya Miss Wilson
apakah dia bisa mencari tahu di
mana dia bekerja.

Jadi Miss Wilson kembali di
Facebook dan menemukan ia
adalah seorang penata rambut di
Croxley Green, Herts.
Holliman kemudian ditangkap di
bekerja pada hari berikutnya dan
dibawa ke kantor polisi,

Wednesday, November 18, 2009

Yeah, I'll Do It Later...

Did you know that the Deadly Serious Party was an Australian political party that once proposed to train killer penguins to protect us from an Argentine invasion? Or that Valencia’s stadium Mestalla was once used as a concentration camp? Or that a whoopie pie is an American chocolate cake? No? It’s amazing what Wikipedia knows that we don’t. I find that Wikipedia is quite often the cause of a condition that afflicts me and many others. I call it Chronic Procrastination. See, I’ve always envied people who can set their mind to do doing something and then go out and do it. Studying for exams, finding a job, writing an essay. The list goes on. But I can’t do that. I tell myself that I am going to write my essay yet I find myself watching a DVD, joining the real-time chat on a certain F1 site or, as I mentioned before, trawling through Wikipedia adding to already overflowing stockpile of useless crap that takes up most of my brain. I tell myself I am going to study for my exams that are in less than a week yet I find myself blogging about procrastinating. See what I mean?

And I know I’m not the only one. Why do you think Twitter was invented? So that people can talk about whatever meaningless activity they are doing rather than going out and doing something important. To waste time. Facebook is the same. They exist only to serve our desire to put off that which is most important.

But yes, instead of telling you about cakes and camps and killer penguins, I should be telling you something about Virgil’s Roman epic, the Aeneid. I have to tell an examiner about it on Tuesday. But because my own trail of discovery, albeit a virtual one on Wikipedia didn’t take me there, I can’t.

Anyway, that’s enough procrastinating, I’m off to watch to a film…

My name's Ron....and I'm addicted to Twitter.

I never thought I’d be part of another social networking site. When I got rid of my Myspace, I thought I was done. Wow!! I was soooo wrong. I couldn’t care less about gaining followers, I post things in there for the same reasons I started my blog here, for my own enjoyment. The main reason for joining was to see what all the fuss was about. Conclusion, it’s just simple and fun. The humor that gets kicked around minute after minute is so worth the hype. I think the most attractive thing about it is that even though it’s a social site, it definitely doesn’t need the maintenance that places like Facebook or MySpace require. Follow who you want, and that’s it. There are also some great causes that use the site for putting the word out on charity events and contributions to certain organizations if a user reaches the required amount of followers. There’s also something kind of cool about getting a response from athlete, musician, comedian, talk show host, or actor. I’ll admit, I thought something like this was truly worthless and a waste of time. I couldn’t be more wrong. I have an HTC Touch and the best application I’ve encountered is Twobile. Blogging on a smaller scale……. My original thought of “It’s just another one of  THOSE sites.”-FAIL. Twitter-WIN!

Monday, November 16, 2009

Why Twitter > Facebook

I’m starting to get that feeling in my gut, the same one that I had in late 2007 when I knew that MySpace had crossed the line of no return in its war against Facebook.   But this time, it’s Facebook’s turn to be bested.  It’s not because of the multiple site revamps where with each one the design of Facebook seems to get worse and more confusing, it’s not just because Twitter seems to be all the rage right now (sites can lose that momentum, here’s looking at you Friendster), and it’s not because of Facebook users unhealthy obsession with Farmville. 

The reason why I think Twitter is about to truly blow its competition out of the water is because Twitter does one thing better than any other site on the internet: reinvents how we communicate.  While many just use their tweets to convey news and priority information, the new trend with Twitter seems to be friendly conversation with strangers, much akin to the old days of forums and message boards and dare I even say chat rooms.   Twitter has become an easy way for you to reach out to a complete stranger, and it seems like these days it’s more and more likely you’ll get a reply.  Most of the conversation on Twitter is always in a polite and friendly tone, you just don’t get the flame wars and trolls that the much despised chat room can bring.  Twitter encapsulates the most basic form of human contact and communication, and reinvents it into something a bit more intuititve for the digital age.

Whether you’re talking to a celebrity, friend, or somebody you have never met, Twitter has created a new way for us to share ideas, news, information, jokes, and just about anything else thats on our minds.  Facebook meanwhile in contrast feels very sterile, cold, and isolating.  On FB, there’s a litany of privacy settings for each profile blocking any meaningful conversation with someone you’ve never met before.   Let’s face it.. don’t you just feel a tad bit creepy sending someone an unsolicited message or friend request on Facebook even if you’re interested in getting to know more about them? 

But on Twitter, unsolicited messages are not only welcome but quickly becoming anticipated and expected.  We feel a sense of pride when someone chooses to follow us, retweet us, or reply to something we’ve said.  Twitter has opened the flood gate for an actual conversation to take place on the internet, theres no fees, theres no bad music/flashing layouts, and most importantly of all there’s not a feeling of bothering someone or being put off when we reach out to them.  This community is also still growing day by day, I feel that we haven’t seen 1/4th of the potential that Twitter can bring. 

I see Twitter as almost the next evolution of e-mail.  You can reach out to anybody that has an account, they still have the choice to reply to what you send, and 140 characters is just right for breaking the ice or getting a quick point across.  Tweets are a faster, quicker, and shorter way of contacting someone and when enough people get on your social network will really start booming, giving you far more “friends” and contacts than myspace/facebook could combined. 

One of the tell tale signs of a site really hitting its mainstream stride, is when your friends who are anti-social media or technology start to sign up for it.  Slowly but surely I’m seeing everyone from the “jocks” to the “geeks” getting on to Twitter, and surprisingly enough.. they’re communicating with each other.  I think Twitter has done an amazing job of bringing down this impetus shield of contact that we put up as human beings.  We’re all social creatures at heart and out of all of the platforms out there, it seems like Twitter gives us the most ability for our voices to be heard.

Thanks to Anti-social Networks

Anti-social Networks are bound to happen and we should be grateful for it.
Those hundreds of ’social’ pics publishers who think they’re cute can just really make you puke:

‘Chances are, if it doesn’t describe the face you’re making in your Facebook profile picture, it describes one (and likely more) of your friends: the pouty-kissy duckface. And the minds behind Stop Making That Duckface! are sick of it. “Stop doing it,” reads the manifesto just above the address where you’re encouraged to send egregious examples. “It isn’t sexy. You look stupid. Really. Really. Stupid.”

‘Indeed, Eliot Glazer concurs, “It’s a lot of pressure, capturing that ‘perfect’ image. … Honestly, though, when did Taylor Dayne take over the Internet??? Cut! It! Out!”’ -Urlesque

Friday, November 13, 2009

Nếu bạn bị chặn facebook.com

Lưu ý: phương pháp sau đây chỉ làm việc với 1 số tường lửa nhất định.

Nếu ISP của bạn chặn truy cập vào trang facebook.com, hãy thử tải file bat này về và chạy với quyển quản trị. Bấm chuột phải vào nó và chọn Run As Administrator. Restart lại máy và thử lại.

Hoặc bạn có thể thay đổi DNS server cho kết nối của mình để tránh tường lửa loại này. Cách làm như sau:

  1. Windows XP: vào Start > Control Panel > Network Connections.
    Windows Vista hoặc 7: Start > Control Panel > Network and Internet > Network and Sharing Connections.
  2. Chọn kết nối của bạn (thường là Local Area Connection). Hộp thoại tương tự như sau hiện lên.
  3. Chọn Properties rồi chọn Internet Protocol (TCP/IP) hoặc Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP/IP) rồi bấm Properties.
  4. Trong hộp thoại mới click vào Use the following DNS server addresses rồi gõ vào địa chỉ các DNS công cộng như OpenDNS (208.67.222.222, 208.67.220.220).
  5. Bấm OK rồi thử truy cập vào facebook.com.
  6. Nếu thay đổi trên làm bạn không thể truy cập vào internet, hãy lặp lại các bước 1, 2, 3 và tick vào Obtain DNS server adress automatically ở bước 4.

Rumor: Leaked Images Of Next PS3 Firmware (Featuring Facebook Integration)

Leaked images of the next PS3 firmware all over the internet. This time, this “rumored” firmware is to have facebook integration. It’s sorta not hard to believe that the PS3 will have this on there firmware as the Xbox 360 has Facebook and Twitter integration.

Some people don’t understand we can just use the PS3’s web browser to use facebook and twitter, and even more. I would find it pointless for these “rumored” facebook integration, since we can already do it on the web browser.

Wednesday, November 11, 2009

School is always "in" at Friedberg Properties

Training never ends for agents at Friedberg Properties.  In order to be current with the real estate market, economic and business trends, technology and New Jersey MLS system enhancements, school time for a Friedberg agent is important.  In house training is a big part of what we do and we have professional education days as well. 

Shown here is an in house training session just held at our Englewood Cliffs Office.  Jeff Lattimer is working with a New Jersey MLS instructor who’s teaching Jeff the latest system enhancements.  Working one on one with Jeff just like a personal trainer helps him learn the material thoroughly and efficiently. 

The Eastern Bergen Board of Realtors and the Real Source Board of Realtors both cover Bergen County and have excellent seminars too which our agents and managers attend regularly.   Teaching at these meetings can range from using social media such as Facebook and Twitter to testing well water properly.  Education is important at Friedberg because we never stop honing our skills and our professionalism.

Grammar is [sadly] Relative

I am a grammar snob.  At least, I used to be, before I took a class in linguistics from the chair of one of the top-ranked linguistics departments in the country.  He taught me that all language is relative, so having set in stone rules doesn’t always make sense.

Yes, I’ll say that again.  My professor of linguistics said that, because language is relative and constantly evolving, from words to grammatical structures, sometimes the rules are over-emphasized.

This, for me, was an earth-shaking revelation.  I had spent time as an editor and as a copy editor — my job was to fix grammatical errors and make people follow the rules!  Adding in a semicolon between two complete sentences not seperated by a conjunction was my drug.  Heck, even the New York Times employs a writer whose job is to write columns on word usage, so it had to be important.

As a result, I was one of those people who was convinced that the youth America, and really, all countries around the world, was going down the drain because of bad grammar.

However, based on this class, I started thinking about writing and the writing ability of our generation.   We can read, which is a big step ahead of most of our ancestors.  And we write; we write e-mails, text messages, facebook notes, and blog posts on a daily basis.  And if language is relative, then it doesn’t matter if we spell “love” or “<3.”

It quickly became clear to me that, in fact, we are one of the most literate generations in history.

Penelope Trunk posits that the best writers in history are graduating from college, right now.  She cites research that shows that with the advent of the internet, people are writing more and more in their spare time.  While previously most, if not all, writing took place in a classroom setting, now only 38% of writing does.  Which means we’re all writing a lot more than we used to be.

I’m not saying that we can debate, create arguments, and understand logic better than previous generations.  That’s a topic for another post, if not a phD dissertation.

And don’t get your hopes up; I’m also not saying that grammar doesn’t matter.  It still does, especially in the workplace.  If you’re writing an e-mail to the boss, it had better have good grammar.  If you’re taking a standardized test with an essay-writing component, you’d better believe they’re going to grade you on your grammar and spelling.  That’s the point.

Some employers will throw out resumes with a single typo.

Even if grammar and spelling are relative, you’ll still be judged on it.  Having a basic understanding of the language we speak and write is not optional, it’s required.

Monday, November 9, 2009

Sarko ce héros (ignoré) qui a abattu le Mur (presque) alors que l'UMP est obligée de faire de la retape

Un coup digne des démocraties populaires et de l’ex-URSS, fallait oser. Oui, souvenez-vous, c’était avant ce qu’on (les libéraux) a voulu nous faire passer pour la Fin de l’Histoire (les cons ça ose tout, c’est passé dans le langage courant) – une théorie battue en brèche par la réalité et l’échec du capitalisme, comme le décortique le philosophe slovène Slavoj Zizek dans Le Monde -; à cette époque, donc, les pays du bloc de l’Est avaient pris l’habitude de réécrire l’Histoire à leur sauce. Et, suivant les tendances du moment, on pouvait ainsi voir tel ou tel dignitaire disparaître des photos officielles (ou y réapparaître). Et voilà que le tout-petit-président nous tente le coup.

Hissé sur un escabeau, ou bien attaquant l’obstacle par le bas, mieux qu’un Zelig qui se glissait dans les événements historiques en simple figurant, voilà notre nain élyséen qui fait tomber le Mur de Berlin marteau en main. Et photo à l’appui.

Un fake ? Non un fail surtout – je vais y revenir -, mais l’image a bel et bien été mise en ligne dans l’après-midi par le héros de tout un peuple (enfin par ses conseillers plutôt) sur la page Facebook du petit père des riches au-dessus du peuple (vous pouvez vérifier, c’est là).

Une belle occasion de prouver aux internautes et au reste de la populace à quel point le dépensier de l’Elysée est un homme qui compte et qui a déjà marqué les temps. D’autres révélations fracassantes sont attendues, à l’exemple de l’annonce faite sur Twitter par @guybirenbaum : “@Donjipez @MryEmery Demain le Sarkoinfo à 20h32 sur BFMTV révèlera que le Président a, notamment, aussi arrêté un char Place Tian’ Anmen”.

Les langues timides à porter au plus haut les incroyables exploits du nabotléon se délient alors et on se prend à espérer savoir savoir comment il a remporté la bataille de Marignan, gagné la guerre de Cent Ans, sauvé Stalingrad, mis le pied sur la lune, viré Ceaucescu, combattu Hitler, peint les grottes de Lascaux, découvert l’Amérique… serré la main de Pétain (Hein ? Non, ça faut pas le dire ? Ahh ok). Bref à la suite du prince Jean de l’Epad  on découvre à quel point #nicolassarkozypartout.

Une nouvelle preuve surgit alors des archives de Fabrice Epelboin : le guide suprême de l’action à la française (j’insiste ou l’allusion est assez claire là ?) en pleine action lors des JO de Mexico pour lutter contre la ségrégation raciale aux USA.

Epoustouriflant non ? Bon d’accord, là c’est un fake. Mais l’aventure berlinoise ressemble, elle, plus qu’à un fail de communication et de “je prends les gens pour des cons”.

Très vite dans l’après-midi de ce pourtant tranquille dimanche les doutes affleuraient et la supercherie devenait de plus en plus évidente. Alain Auffray, journaliste de Libération longtemps en poste à Berlin, mettait les pieds dans le plat dans un billet intitulé: “Mur de Berlin: Sarko refait l’Histoire “(lire sur son blog ici). Il reprenait le texte mis en ligne par le président déconsidéré, et qui ne pourra que se féliciter que le ridicule ait renoncé à tuer, pour souligner l’impossibilité d’avoir été sur place le 9 novembre 1989 au soir et là où il dit que la photo (celle du haut, suivez bon sang) a été prise. Tout simplement parce que, sauf à être devin, personne ne pouvait prévoir l’ouverture du mur ce jour-là et à cette heure-là. D’ailleurs, on peut se souvenir que nombre de chancelleries furent prises de court et que les réactions officielles des chefs d’Etats, de gouvernements et des diplomates n’affluèrent que le 10. En un mot la tentative sarkozienne pour se hausser du col apparaît pour ce qu’elle est : tout bonnement pitoyable.

A ce jeu de “j’étais là quand ça s’est passé” un autre s’est fait prendre les doigts dans le pot de confiture. C’est Alain Juppé qui, visiblement, a la mémoire qui fait plus que flancher (lire ici quelques explications). Droit dans ses bottes, il était le 10 à Paris (et pas foutu de témoigner de ce qu’il aurait vu de ses yeux vus la veille ?) et n’a sans doute pas mis le pied dans la (future) capitale réunifiée avant le 16. Une journaliste qui vécut ces moments sur place n’a d’ailleurs aucun souvenir (et n’y croit pas du tout) de la présence d’une délégation du feu RPR durant les premières heures et premiers jours de cette chute du Mur.

On est bien là face à un événement auquel beaucoup prétendent avoir assisté (l’ayant raté ou par envie de se faire mousser), comme peut l’être, dans une dimension historique autrement plus importante, le fameux festival punk de Mont-de-Marsan en 1977 qui avait réuni quelques brassées de spectateurs mais où tout un chacun se vante avoir été. J’ai moi-même tenté le coup mais fut renvoyé au fait que j’avais à peine 11 ans à cette date

Pour en revenir au nabotléon (et à Juppé), c’est lamentable.

Il est vrai que pour le tout-petit président, il y a quelque intérêt à tenter de se grandir un peu et l’heure est à essayer de sauver quelques meubles. L’UMP prend l’eau et a vu ses effectifs régresser à vue d’oeil, notamment du côté des jeunes encartés (pourtant c’est pas cher et on te file des tongs en plus) passés de 31000 à 11000 (plus de détails : clic, clic, clic). Ca fait mal.

Ca va même si mal que l’on s’y inquiète et fait de la retape. Pour le 11-Novembre, le mini monarque a voulu faire les choses en grand et profiter de l’occase pour en repasser une couche sur la chute du Mur (heure qu’ont voulu faire leur des néo-cons auxquels il est indubitablement lié, même si ces théories sont renvoyés vers les poubelles de l’Histoire  à leur tour). Comme il lui faut une claque dévouée, qu’il a peur de se frotter au vrai peuple et à son courroux, on a tenté de faire monter les militants du parti qui voudrait bien être unique au premier rang. Mais là encore ça ne répond plus bien.

Relances par SMS et multiples rappels ont été adressés aux fédérations umpistes et aux militants. Au bas mot, on doit être à la troisième relance avec celle-ci.

Subject: Rappel : Invitation aux commémorations de l’armistice du 11 novembre

 

RAPPEL

INVITATION


Chère Amie, Cher Ami,

Dans le cadre des commémorations de l’armistice du 11 novembre, le Président de la République a souhaité ajouter au souvenir de la Grande Guerre celui de la réconciliation entre les peuples français et allemand.

La cérémonie aux pieds de l’Arc de Triomphe à Paris prendra donc une dimension toute particulière avec la présence de la Chancelière Angela MERKEL.

Vous êtes invité(e) à assister a cet événement historique qui se tiendra donc ce mercredi 11 novembre 2009

Il est vivement recommandé de se présenter sur place avant 10 heures (accès métro ligne 1, 2, 6 et RER A : station Charles de Gaulle-Etoile, sortie avenue Carnot).

Pour ce faire, il vous suffit de vous inscrire auprès de votre fédération au 02 32 60 20 37 ou
ump27@orange.fr

Nous savons pouvoir compter sur votre mobilisation.

_____________

 

RAPPEL

INVITATION


Chère Amie, Cher Ami,

Dans le cadre des commémorations de l’armistice du 11 novembre, le Président de la République a souhaité ajouter au souvenir de la Grande Guerre celui de la réconciliation entre les peuples français et allemand.

La cérémonie aux pieds de l’Arc de Triomphe à Paris prendra donc une dimension toute particulière avec la présence de la Chancelière Angela MERKEL.

Vous êtes invité(e) à assister a cet événement historique qui se tiendra donc ce mercredi 11 novembre 2009

Il est vivement recommandé de se présenter sur place avant 10 heures (accès métro ligne 1, 2, 6 et RER A : station Charles de Gaulle-Etoile, sortie avenue Carnot).

Pour ce faire, il vous suffit de vous inscrire auprès de votre fédération au 02 32 60 20 37 ou
ump27@orange.fr

Nous savons pouvoir compter sur votre mobilisation.

La fédération de l’Eure

_____________

La fédération de l’Eure

Du vrai racolage actif

TRIK TAMBAH TRAFIK BLOG ATAU WEBSITE DARI FACEBOOK

Jika Anda memiliki blog atau website, namun hanya dikunjungi oleh 100-an visitor per harinya, mungkin Anda harus memiliki trik tertentu untuk meningkatkan trafik pengunjung blog atau website Anda. Berikut trik dan tips untuk meningkatkan angka pengunjung melalui situs jejaring social Facebook :

1. Buat account di Facebook

2. Setelah memiliki account, carilah teman (friends) sebanyak-banyaknya, minimal 100 hingga 200 teman di account Facebook Anda

3. Lihat di menu Info -> Contact Information -> Websites, lalu tulis alamat URL blog atau website Anda.

4. Masukkan menu Info tersebut ke dalam Profile Facebook, dan akan tertampil di bagian samping.

5. Pasang kotak komentar yang dilengkapi dengan Facebook Connect, dengan menggunakan Disqus (disqus.com/signup/?next=/add/).
- Pada bagian home klik Add Website. isi Website URL, Website Name dan Short name
- Pilih platform blog Anda.
-Setelah melihat petunjuk penginstalan, lihat kotak komentar baru seperti kotak komentar WordPress yang berisikan name, email, dan URL tetapi masih belum tersedia Facebook Connect.
- Masuk ke Admin -> Settings, pilih Fitur Facebook Connect, dan centang box, lalu masukkan “Enter Facebook API Key”
- API Key didapat setelah Anda membuat sebuah aplikasi Facebook di facebook.com/developers/createapp.php, beri nama, pilih Agree dan Save
- Di halaman edditapp anda akan mendapatkan API Key. Copy, paste pada halaman setting Disqus, lalu Save
- Kembali ke edditapp klik pada link connect (sebelah kanan), isi connect url dengan alamat blog atau website, base domain dengan alamat blog atau website tanpa http:// dan klik save changes
- Lalu kembali lihat halaman blog atau website Anda.

6. Anda juga bisa memasukkan Feed blog atau website ke Facebook, sehingga setiap Anda memposting artikel baru, maka akan tertampil secara otomatis di halaman Profile ataupun News Feed.

7. Pasang widget Share on Facebook. Tapi sebelumnya masuk ke Facebook, lalu buka facebook.com/advertising/?src=pf#/advertising/?shar e

8. Share artikel via kolom Attach Link, pilih gambar thumbnail yang paling menarik agar mudah menarik perhatian pengunjung

Friday, November 6, 2009

The Interwebs Makes Dating Hard. Just Saying.

Funny thing about liking someone. It makes you a fucking lunatic. You stare off into space, thinking about them. You pull out your cell phone a zillion times, just to see if they texted you yet. You save your favorite texts they sent you. You make appointments with a personal trainer. You cancel those appointments. You eat three KitKat bars and vow to call that personal trainer back and this time, you are going to keep that appointment.

You once again worry about what you look like naked. You see yourself through someone else’s eyes for the first time. You question everything about yourself. You worry about your crazy family. You change your sheets. You consider sex toy etiquette (Yes, you need to get new ones. Those things don’t transfer).

You get those stupid ass butterflies in your stomach when they reach over to kiss you. You smile a lot, for no reason. You start every sentence with “Well, me and Mavrick…”. You drive your friends insane. You drive yourself insane.

And you start to realize that liking someone now isn’t a whole lot different than liking someone ten years ago. And then, oh hai, Interwebs! Let’s see if we can add a whole new layer of things to worry about. Thanks!

Trying to navigate the beginning of a relationship is difficult enough, and then you have to go and add the freaking Internet into the mix. Let’s start with Twitter. Mavrick and I follow each other on Twitter. But did I ever tell you that the day he joined Twitter, I had just tweeted:

“A watched cell phone never gets that text you have been waiting for. I hate crushing on someone. Makes me feel like a girl.”

So I get out of the shower to this text from him:

“Bet you wish this wasn’t the day I decided to get on Twitter. So. You’re crushing on me, huh? I like it when you’re a girlie girl.”

Like, honestly? I wanted to die. So. We text. We tweet. I blog. We live our lives SO in the public domain. And he knows it. He reads the blog (hi, honey!). I warned him that dating me meant having our dirty laundry aired out here. I warned him if he pissed me off bad enough one day, that I was a vindictive bitch and could go after him here. He knew (mostly) what he was getting into.

And this is not at all what it was like dating ten years ago. I didn’t have a blog. I didn’t tweet. And there was no stupid ass Facebook. This is my dilemma. How does one approach changing one’s Facebook status? It’s one thing to sit alone with your sweetie and agree to not see other people. It’s another thing to change your Facebook status. Then, all hell breaks loose.

You change your status from single to in a relationship, and the next thing you know, you have 75 messages and 32 comments. “Who’s the lucky guy?” “OMG, good for you! Who is he?” “Why haven’t I heard about this? You better call me!” “Did you tell him you had herpes? JK! Good for you!” All of your well-meaning ‘friends’ come crawling out of the woodwork, getting all up in your bidnezz.

Add to this the fact that if they are also on Facebook (he is) and you want to state that is who you are in a relationship with, and you want to ‘tag’ that, they have to approve, via email, that they are in a relationship with you. But what if they don’t want to advertise that? What if they aren’t ready to answer that flurry of questions? Does that mean that they aren’t serious about you, or that they just don’t want to deal with the shit storm that could befall them if they change that goddamned status?

WHAT DOES IS ALL MEAN?

It means that my head hurts. That I’m glad I always have wine on hand. That it’s not fair that Twitter and Facebook has changed the way we date. And that liking someone is a wonderful, scary, breathless, painful thing. If your Facebook status says single but you are actually in a relationship, does a tree still make a sound falling in the woods? This is the question for the ages.

Fucking Interwebs.

iklan lagi di FB (re. pilih CPC atau CPM)

Berapa dana yang kita keluarkan untuk beriklan dapat mendatangkan penjualan? Berapa ROI nya?

Sudah hampir 3 minggu ini tetap hidup walau tidak nonton TV sama sekali. Baca koran? hmmm apa lagi, gak baca koran atau majalah juga tidak masalah. Tapi tidak baca m.detik.com, twitter.com, facebook.com, cek email yahoo, email google, pasti dunia terasa hampa.

So setelah habis kontrak dengan radio di bekasi dan koran nasional, akhirnya obatamandel.com kembali ke “dunia maya”. Targetnya saat ini adalah FB. Sebelumnya media ini sudah dicoba dengan budget sangat minim, hanya 150.000 dan hasilnya dianggap kurang sukses sehingga kembali ke media koran. Saat itu sukses tidak sukses susah sekali diukur karena belum ketemu metode yang paling pas. So setelah belajar dan tahu ilmunya, nampaknya praktek jilid 2 iklan di FB harusnya lebih handal.

Artikel ini akan lebih fokus mendiskusikan pemasangan iklan di FB.

Facebook memberi kesempatan bagi semua membernya untuk beriklan. Sekedar mau nampang, cari popularitas (misal calon bupati), atau jualan bebas-bebas saja. Ada 2 metode yang ditawarkan :

1. CPC : bayar per klik. Advertiser harus bayar nilai klik yang diberikan. Nilainya bisa dari $0.01. dan bisa juga di set anggaran hariannya.

2. CPM : bayar per 1000 tampilan. Advertiser harus bayar setiap 1000 x iklannya ditampilkan. Nilainya hampir sama, bisa mulai $0.01

Ada 2 model iklan, karena FB meyakini setiap pemasang iklan memiliki target dan tujuan yang berbeda. Untuk CPM sangat cocok untuk reminding, peluang click sangat tinggi (produk unik, sensasional,membuat penasaran).

Trus kalau kita iklan pilih yang mana? pilih yang mana saja yang kita suka, lalu evaluasi

bagaimana mengevaluasinya?

Rumusannya adalah :

A = impression x CPC x CTR
B = (1/1000) x CPM

samakan nilai CPC dan CPM dulu, dengan estimasi budget iklan kita tetap

jika nilai A < B, maka CPC lebih cocok dan ekonomis bagi program iklan kita. Jika ternyata A > B, maka pilihan CPM akan lebih cocok

Kuncinya sesuaikan antara kebutuhan kita, FB sudah memberikan jalan keluarnya Tugas berikutnya setelah trafik datang bagaimana mengubahnya menjadi transaksi.

gabung disini yukk… http://lanjut.in/FansFB

Wednesday, November 4, 2009

Level Up Already

I was sitting at my computer the other day, engrossed in Castle Age. It’s one of the best applications I have found to distract me on Facebook. I know, I’m such a nerd. But I LOVE IT! Being a nerd is fabulous.

In a nutshell, you lead an army and complete quests, grow your army, invade and duel other players, fight in epic team battles against horrible creatures, build castles, make money and increase in health, stamina and energy. All the while you are going from level to level by gathering experience points.

While I was waiting for my energy to increase so I could take on another Orc King, I thought how similar this game was to real life. And maybe this is why I, and so many others enjoy it so much.

I know, you think I’m crazy. Settle down and hear me out.

If you think about it, real life is all about completing quests, “dueling” with personalities, joining forces with your peers for a common goal, starting a career, making money and gaining experience. Sure, you don’t have Elven weaponry to aid you and you don’t have an army of knights and magical powers; but the parallels to this are just as important.

Take A Look At This
CASTLE AGE // REAL LIFE

Defeat the Orc King // Defeat college or work
Fight another player for money and points // Duel with people and personalities that TICK you off!
Build Castles // Buy a house, rent an apartment
Stash your gold // Save your money
Grow your army // Network, make friends
Increase Health, Stamina, Energy and Experience
Level Up

You may have trouble wrapping your mind around this, but so many people live life through a virtual world rather than taking the same basic ideas and creating a promising life in the real world. Not every one of course, but some people are too intimidated by the unknown that they never take the chance to live life out for themselves.

I think life is full of exciting quests and lands to be conquered. I love the distraction of the virtual world, but living real life is so much more rewarding.

Take all the experiences you have, all your resources, your network, your circle of friends and invade the real world! It may take you awhile to get to the next level, but GET THERE! DO IT! I know you can.

Thanks for reading.